The Resilient City

By Michael

There are many days when I miss my hometown. Whenever you ask a Massachusetts transplant in another part of the country where they’re from, they’ll proudly answer Boston (even though, like me, they probably lived outside the city). Bostonians are a proud and extremely sarcastic people who never give up, even if it takes 86 years (go Sox).

We are a resilient city, full of resilient people.

I wanted to write today about the friends and family I frantically called, texted, and facebooked yesterday. However, my good friend and Bostonian has captured  many of my feelings far better than I could have. Check out Cam Lownie’s post here, it’s spectacular.

Instead I wanted to write about love. Often in the face of tragedy, we want to find someone to blame, someone to bring to justice. They killed an 8 year-old…an 8 year-old goddamnit. There’s a special place in hell (or whatever you believe in) for whoever did this. But hate is the reaction they/he/she wants. Using their evil to bring out the bad in humanity would give them great joy. I’m sure of it.

However, instead of seeing pictures all over facebook with targets or heinous misreports on the media blaming groups, I saw pictures of Mr. Rogers. People were talking about the first responders, the blood donors, and the selfless heroes. Everyone was sending out the emergency phone lines and the Google people finder link. Within an hour or so, the fake “donation marathon” twitter account had been disbanded. People were helping each other, and creating a community love throughout the country. I couldn’t have been prouder.

I’m reminded of an amazing story I heard in class last year. Bob Marley and the Wailers were preparing for the Smile Jamaica concert two days before the show. Right after the rehearsal Bob Marley, his manager, and his wife were shot. No one was killed, but it was politically motivated, and everyone was urging Mr. Marley to not go through with playing the show. He had a simple answer for them and the people at the show when asked why he still wanted to play. He said, “the people, who are trying to make this world worse, they are not taking a day off. How can I?”.

The perpetrator(s) of this tragedy will be found, and they will be brought to justice.

But no matter how many days, weeks, months, or years pass; we cannot forget that it was love, not revenge that got us through April 15th, 2013.

This entry was posted in Boston and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Resilient City

  1. Sue says:

    I could not agree with you more Michael!
    Aunt Sue

Leave a Reply

